DID YOU KNOW (15)? Nigeria Is No Longer On The Gulf of Guinea Piracy List

Nigeria’s success in reducing piracy attacks on its Gulf of Guinea waters by 77% has resulted in Nigeria’s removal from the piracy list, by the International Maritime Bureau (IMB), as reflected in its 3rd Quarter 2021 report.

In the 2021 annual piracy report, the IMB stated that overall reduction in 2021 reported incidents is due to decline of reported piracy activity within Gulf of Guinea, with decrease from 81 reported incidents in 2020 to 34 in 2021.

Geographically, the Gulf of Guinea consists of the maritime area in the western part of the African continent. The countries in the Gulf of Guinea are:

1. Nigeria
2. Ghana
3. Togo
4. Benin
5. Cameroon
6. Equatorial Guinea
7. Gabon
8. Sao Tome & Principe
9. Angola
10. Republic of Congo
11. Democratic
Republic of Congo

Leave a Reply

Fill in your details below or click an icon to log in:

WordPress.com Logo

You are commenting using your WordPress.com account. Log Out /  Change )

Twitter picture

You are commenting using your Twitter account. Log Out /  Change )

Facebook photo

You are commenting using your Facebook account. Log Out /  Change )

Connecting to %s

%d bloggers like this: